Dr Charlton’s Low Carb Program

Why Low Carb?

  • There are clear associations between excessive sugar consumption and obesity, type 2 diabetes and other chronic diseases
  • Carbohydrates breaks down into glucose
  • Cutting back on sugar will help you:
    • Reduce weight or maintain a healthy weight
    • Improve on glucose, and reduce risk of type 2 diabetes or even reverse type 2 diabetes
    • Improve on cholesterol profile
    • Improve your mind and improve concentration
    • Improve energy levels
    • Feel happier, improve in mood, reduce risk of depression
    • Improve digestion, reduce bloating and gassiness. It might help to reduce chronic pains.
    • Reduce hunger. Insulin causes hunger, ketones stop hunger
  • Low calorie diets often cause weight gain after the program as you feel hungry

Who is Dr Charlton?

I am a General Practitioner working in Wantirna, Victoria for the last 14 years. I studied in the University of Melbourne. I did my hospital years in Box Hill Hospital and subsequently entered into General Practice.

I love my job as a GP. I have worked in the same clinic for so long that some of the babies or kids that I have seen have grown up into teenagers. It is a rewarding job looking after families. I have special interests in Obstetrics, Women’s health, Paediatrics and recently practicing Low Carb medicine.

After growing my babies, I have been looking for ways to get my fitness back. I have 2 boys, now 12 and 9 years old. 6 years ago, I decided I need to loose weight and become more fit. I joined the gym and also started C25K run program. To my surprise, this started an amazing life changing journey of fitness, health, passion, satisfaction, new friendships and accomplishment.

I started going to Parkrun in my local area. I also joined Running Mums Australia, a facebook group. I made new friends. I started running with these people and the passion grew. I started to love running, the outdoors, the social aspect of seeing these people and connecting with new friends with the same interest. Parkrun became a weekly event. I also started running regularly 3-4 times a week. It helps with my mental health. I also started to challenge myself by signing up for running events. I started with 10km and eventually build up to a marathon in 2019, 42km. Having completed Melbourne Marathon in 2019 is one of the most satisfying achievement I’ve had, apart from completing a medical degree.

I also joined the 8 week body transformation challenge in my local gym a couple of times and managed to loose a 4% body fat and 4kg, each time. The diet they promote is basically low carb/ keto, in combination with a variety of exercises. This is probably how I get into Low Carb/ Keto.

I had set backs with injuries. I suffered plantar faciitis, shin splints and a fractured metatarsal and currently tibial stress fracture. I learn to keep going. I continue to exercise appropriately. I now go to the gym and do aqua running. I continue to eat healthy, mostly low carb. I am trying to maintain my weight, rather than loose weight.

In terms of professional development, I have set myself up to be a Low Carb GP in my clinic. I have an 8 week program where patients come in for weekly intensive reviews. The program is still young but had good results so far. I continue my professional education, including completing the course in Low Carb Down Under, Scope Course in Obesity management and now Nutritional Network.

I try to balance myself between work, family and my hobby, that is running. I believe its more balanced than it’s ever been. 

Nutrition Education Consultation

You can book for a long consultation to discuss nutrition information. We will go through foods that are nutritious and foods that can cause havoc to your system.

Examples of what to eat when starting Low Carb

A lot of people are unsure what to eat. No more bread and cereal for breakfast?!! This is just a list of examples of foods suggestions. Lots more suggestions on keto cookbooks and websites.

How to start keto/ low carb?

  • Eat healthy proteins and fat
  • Plenty of green leafy vegetables
  • Avoid the white stuff – bread, pasta, potato, rice.
  • Eat when hungry
  • Surround yourself with the LCHF community – join Facebook groups, follow people on Insta
  • Google recipes by adding keto in front
  • Follow a few keto websites (see following)
  • Avoid snacks – aim 3 meals a day or even intermittent fasting
  • Meal prep. Plan your meals for the week. Cook more on weekends and dinner and take your own lunch.
  • Cook in bulk. Have salad ingredients in fridge handy.
  • Don’t compare yourself to others
  • If you get off wagon, doesn’t matter, just jump back on.
  • Consistency is the key.
  • Don’t be too harsh on yourself

Keto Flu

  • Headaches, fatigue, cramps, dizziness, light-headedness, muscles aches, constipation, nausea, fatigue when exercising, insomnia
  • Low insulin level results in kidneys getting rid of sodium, and hence potassium and magnesium as well.
  • This results in dehydration
  • This can be prevented by ensuring enough salt intake, 5gm a day
  • Add more salt to food
  • Drink bone broth
  • Can drink 1/2 teaspoon of salt added to warm water
  • Consider elemental Magnesium supplementation 400mg a day

The Other Things

  • Mindful eating, eat slowly
  • Enough sleep, ideally 8 hours each night
  • Relaxation, meditation, reduction of stress, deep breathing exercises
  • Walking is good for relaxation
  • Exercise – aim 5-6 days a week. Weight lifting using heavy weights is great. A combination of cardio and weights are good. High intensity interval training is great for weight loss and burning calories.
  • Eat organic may be beneficial, if your budget allows
  • Stretch, yoga, foam roll
  • Avoid television, laptop, screens, bright light before bed
  • Sleep in complete darkness, avoid screens or phones in the bedroom

Eat Real Food. Avoid processed food. Avoid sugar.





Published by Dr Avi Charlton

General Practitioner with special interest in nutrition and lifestyle medicine. Runner. Marathoner. Mother of 2 boys.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started